Course Icon

Biology Core/AP

Course Syllabus

Course Materials are always under revision! Weblecture content may change anytime prior to two weeks before scheduled chat session for content.

SO Icon

Course Syllabus for Core and AP Biology

2018-2019 Core and AP Biology Syllabus: Homework, Reading Assignments, Discussion Topics, and Related Labs

Use the Links in the Homework column to find your homework assignment. Homework is usually due on the date given, unless otherwise stated in the assignment. Friday sessions are devoted to Lab work and special AP topics not covered in the text.

1Mon, Sep 3, 2018LABOR DAY HOLIDAY
Wed, Sep 5, 2018HW011: 1-11The Scientific Study of Living Things
Fri, Sep 7, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Requirements, AP Exam RequirementsField Lab 1: Baseline
2Mon, Sep 10, 2018HW02A2: 1-9Elements, Atoms, Molecules, and Chemical Bonds
Wed, Sep 12, 2018HW02B2: 10-16The Special Properties of Water
Fri, Sep 14, 2018AP ONLY: Meeting (but you have an assignment anyway)Properties of Water
3Mon, Sep 17, 2018HW03A3: 1-7Organic Compounds: Functional Groups and Carbohydrates
Wed, Sep 19, 2018HW03B3: 8-16Organic Compounds: Lipids, Proteins, and Nucleic Acids
Fri, Sep 21, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesMicroscope Basics and Slide Preparation
4Mon, Sep 24, 2018HW04A4: 1-12Cells: Basic cell structure, Nucleus and Endomembrane components
Wed, Sep 26, 2018HW04B4: 13-22Cells: Energy Organelles, CytoSkeletons and Surfaces
Fri, Sep 28, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #4: Osmosis
5Mon, Oct 1, 2018HW05A5:1-9Working Cells: Membranes
Wed, Oct 3, 2018HW05B5: 10-16Working Cells: Energy and Enzymes
Fri, Oct 5, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #13 Enzyme Activity (Alternate: Enzymes)
6Mon, Oct 8, 2018HW06A6: 1-8Cellular Respiration: The Process
Wed, Oct 10, 2018HW06B6: 9-16Cellular Respiration: Energy Results
Fri, Oct 12, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #6: Respiration
7Mon, Oct 15, 2018HW07A7: 1-9Photosynthesis: Light Reactions
Wed, Oct 17, 2018HW07B7: 10-14Photosynthesis: Calvin Cycle
Fri, Oct 19, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #5 Photosynthesis or Dissolved Oxygen Lab
8Mon, Oct 22, 2018HW08A8: 1-10Inheritance: Mitosis
Wed, Oct 24, 2018HW08B8: 11-23Inheritance: Meiosis
Fri, Oct 26, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #7: Meiosis/Mitosis
9Mon, Oct 29, 2018HW09A9: 1-10Inheritance: Mendal's Laws
Wed, Oct 31, 2018HW09B9: 11-23Inheritance: Variations on Mendel's Laws
Fri, Nov 2, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesField Lab #2
10Mon, Nov 5, 2018HW10A10: 1-16DNA Replication: Inside the Nucleus
Wed, Nov 7, 2018HW10B10: 17-23DNA Replication: Outside the Nucleus
Fri, Nov 9, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #3: DNA Sequencing
11Mon, Nov 12, 2018HW11A11: 1-11Gene Controll
Wed, Nov 14, 2018HW11B11: 12-18Cloning and Cancer
Fri, Nov 16, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #8 Bacterial Transformation
12Mon, Nov 19, 2018HW12A12: 1-10Gene Cloning
Wed, Nov 21, 2018HW12B12: 11-21DNA Profiling and Genomics
Fri, Nov 23, 2018AP ONLY: Thanksgiving
13Mon, Nov 26, 2018HW13A13: 1-11Evolution: Darwin's Theory and Populations
Wed, Nov 28, 2018HW13B13: 12-19Microevolution Mechanisms
Fri, Nov 30, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #2: Mathematical Modeling
14Mon, Dec 3, 2018HW14A14: 1-11 (All)The Origin of Species
Wed, Dec 5, 2018HW15A15: 1-13Origin of Life Questions; Macroevolution
Fri, Dec 7, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises
15Mon, Dec 10, 2018HW15B15: 14-19Phylogeny
Wed, Dec 12, 2018HW16A16: 1-11Single Cells: Prokaryotes
Fri, Dec 14, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesField Lab 3
16Mon, Dec 17, 2018HW16B16: 12-19Single Cells: Protists
Wed, Dec 19, 2018HW17A17: 1-11Plants
Fri, Dec 21, 2018AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesPond Water
Mon, Dec 24, 2018Christmas
Wed, Dec 26, 2018Christmas
Fri, Dec 28, 2018Christmas
Mon, Dec 31, 2018New Year
Wed, Jan 2, 2019New Year
Fri, Jan 4, 2019New Year
17Mon, Jan 7, 2019HW17B17: 12-19Fungi
Wed, Jan 9, 2019HW18A18: 1-9Symmetry and Simple Invertebrates
Fri, Jan 11, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #1 SETUP
18Mon, Jan 14, 2019HW18B18: 11-16Segmented Invertebrates and Echinoders
Wed, Jan 16, 2019HW19A19: 1-10Vertebrates
Fri, Jan 18, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesField Lab 4
19Mon, Jan 21, 2019HW19B19: 11-17Human Evolution Theories
Wed, Jan 23, 2019ReviewReview of units 1-4
Fri, Jan 25, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #9: Bacterial DNA
20Mon, Jan 28, 2019HW20A20: 1-15 (All)Animal Tissues
Wed, Jan 30, 2019HW21A21: 1-13Human Digestive System
Fri, Feb 1, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesVitamin C
21Mon, Feb 4, 2019HW21B21: 14-21Nutrition
Wed, Feb 6, 2019HW22A22: 1-12 (All)Gas Exchange
Fri, Feb 8, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesLung Capacity
22Mon, Feb 11, 2019HW23A23: 1-6Mammalian Cardiovascular System: the Heart
Wed, Feb 13, 2019HW23B23: 7-15Blood Vessels and Blood
Fri, Feb 15, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesCirculation
23Mon, Feb 18, 2019HW24A24: 1-11Innate Immunity, Adaptive Immiunity and the Humoral Immune system
Wed, Feb 20, 2019HW24B24: 12-16T Cells and Immune System Disorders
Fri, Feb 22, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesImmunology Simulation
24Mon, Feb 25, 2019HW25A25: 1-9 (All)Osmosis and Excretion
Wed, Feb 27, 2019HW26A26: 1-12 (Al)Chemical Regulation: Hormones
Fri, Mar 1, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #1 FINISH Or Field Lab 5
25Mon, Mar 4, 2019HW27A27: 1-8Human Reproductive System
Wed, Mar 6, 2019HW27B27: 9-18Embryonic and human development
Fri, Mar 8, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesTransgenic Fly Lab
26Mon, Mar 11, 2019HW28A28: 1-10Nerve Signals and Transmission
Wed, Mar 13, 2019HW28B28: 11-21Human Brain structure
Fri, Mar 15, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesNerve Sensitivity
27Mon, Mar 18, 2019HW29A29: 1-6Perception, Hearing, Balance
Wed, Mar 20, 2019HW29B29: 7-13Vision, Taste, Smell
Fri, Mar 22, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesPeripheral Vision
28Mon, Mar 25, 2019HW30A30: 1-12Animal Movement
Wed, Mar 27, 2019HW31A31: 1-8Plant Structure, Function, Growth
Fri, Mar 29, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesDissection
29Mon, Apr 1, 2019HW31B31: 9-15Reproduction of Flowering Plants
Wed, Apr 3, 2019HW32A32: 1-11Uptake and transport of nutrients; Soil
Fri, Apr 5, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesField Lab 6
30Mon, Apr 8, 2019HW32B32: 12-14Nutrition and Symbiosis
Wed, Apr 10, 2019HW33A33: 1-8Plant Hormones
Fri, Apr 12, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #11: Plant Transport
Mon, Apr 15, 2019Holy Week
Wed, Apr 17, 2019Holy Week
Fri, Apr 19, 2019Holy Week
31Mon, Apr 22, 2019HW33B33: 9-13Growth Responses, Plant Defenses
Wed, Apr 24, 2019HW34A34: 1-7The Biosphere and Aquatic Biomes
Fri, Apr 26, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesPlant Responses
32Mon, Apr 29, 2019HW34B34: 8-18Terrestrial Biomes
Wed, May 1, 2019HW35A35: 1-11Behavior and Learning
Fri, May 3, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesBiome Identification
33Mon, May 6, 2019HW35B35: 12-23Foraging, Mating, and Social Behaviors
Wed, May 8, 2019HW36A36: 1-11 (All)Population Structure And Dynamics
Fri, May 10, 2019AP ONLY: Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #12: Habitat Selection
34Mon, May 13, 2019AP Exam
Wed, May 15, 2019HW37A37: 1-13Structural Features of Communities
Fri, May 17, 2019LAP ONLY: ab Review/AP Free Exercises2012 AP Lab #10 Energy Flow
35Mon, May 20, 2019HW37B37: 14-23Ecosystems: Structure, Dynamics, Alterations
Wed, May 22, 2019HW38A38: 1-13 (All)Conservation Biology
Fri, May 24, 2019AP ONLY: Lab Review/AP Free ExercisesRecycling Success
36Mon, May 27, 2019Memorial Day Holiday
Wed, May 29, 2019ReviewReview of units 5-8
Fri, May 31, 2019ReviewAP ONLY: Incomplete Lab scheduleScheduling for Summer Lab Completion

You may also want to review the formal syllabus. This course has been approved as meeting the AP requirements by the College Board, and will be listed as an AP course on student transcripts.