Latin I: Elementary Latin

2017-18: Bruce A. McMenomy, Ph.D. (supervising)
Susan Dennis for Scholars Online

Section I (Susan Dennis): Mondays and Wednesdays, 9:00 AM to 10:30 AM Eastern Time
Section II (Susan Dennis): Mondays and Wednesdays, 10:30 AM to 12:00 PM Eastern Time

Overview    Materials    Schedule



Schedule of reading and discussion assignments

1: Wed, Sep 6, 2017

Working procedures, scheduling, and general practices. Preface, concepts behind an inflected language; pronunciation. Introduce Caput 1

2: Mon, Sep 11, 2017

Caput 1: Field questions about the chapter; Sententiae

3: Wed, Sep 13, 2017

Caput 1: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae, continued

4: Mon, Sep 18, 2017

Caput 1: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 2

5: Wed, Sep 20, 2017

Caput 2: Field questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae 1-15

6: Mon, Sep 25, 2017

Caput 2: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae 16-20

7: Wed, Sep 27, 2017

Caput 2: Passages, cleanup

8: Mon, Oct 2, 2017

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 3.

9: Wed, Oct 4, 2017

Caput 3: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes.

10: Mon, Oct 9, 2017

Caput 3: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

11: Wed, Oct 11, 2017

Caput 3: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 4.

12: Mon, Oct 16, 2017

Caput 4: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes.

13: Wed, Oct 18, 2017

Caput 4: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

14: Mon, Oct 23, 2017

Caput 4: Passages, cleanup.

15: Wed, Oct 25, 2017

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 5.

16: Mon, Oct 30, 2017

Caput 5: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

17: Wed, Nov 1, 2017

Caput 5: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

18: Mon, Nov 6, 2017

Caput 5: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 6

19: Wed, Nov 8, 2017

Caput 6: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

20: Mon, Nov 13, 2017

Caput 6: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

21: Wed, Nov 15, 2017

Caput 6: Passages, cleanup

22: Mon, Nov 20, 2017

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 7

23: Wed, Nov 22, 2017

Caput 7: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

24: Mon, Nov 27, 2017

Caput 7: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

25: Wed, Nov 29, 2017

Caput 7: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 8

26: Mon, Dec 4, 2017

Caput 8: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

27: Wed, Dec 6, 2017

Caput 8: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

28: Mon, Dec 11, 2017

Caput 8: Passages, cleanup

29: Wed, Dec 13, 2017

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 9

30: Mon, Dec 18, 2017

Caput 9: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

31: Wed, Dec 20, 2017

Caput 9: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

32: Mon, Jan 8, 2018

Caput 9: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 10

33: Wed, Jan 10, 2018

Caput 10: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

34: Mon, Jan 15, 2018

Caput 10: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

35: Wed, Jan 17, 2018

Caput 10: Passages, cleanup

36: Mon, Jan 22, 2018

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 11

37: Wed, Jan 24, 2018

Caput 11: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

38: Mon, Jan 29, 2018

Caput 11: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

39: Wed, Jan 31, 2018

Caput 11: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 12

40: Mon, Feb 5, 2018

Caput 12: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

41: Wed, Feb 7, 2018

Caput 12: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

42: Mon, Feb 12, 2018

Caput 12: Passages, cleanup

43: Wed, Feb 14, 2018

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 13

44: Mon, Feb 19, 2018

Caput 13: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

45: Wed, Feb 21, 2018

Caput 13: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

46: Mon, Feb 26, 2018

Caput 13: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 14

47: Wed, Feb 28, 2018

Caput 14: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

48: Mon, Mar 5, 2018

Caput 14: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

49: Wed, Mar 7, 2018

Caput 14: Passages, cleanup

50: Mon, Mar 12, 2018

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 15

51: Wed, Mar 14, 2018

Caput 15: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

52: Mon, Mar 19, 2018

Caput 15: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

53: Wed, Mar 21, 2018

Caput 15: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 16

54: Mon, Apr 2, 2018

Caput 16: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

55: Wed, Apr 4, 2018

Caput 16: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

56: Mon, Apr 9, 2018

Caput 16: Passages, cleanup

57: Wed, Apr 11, 2018

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 17

58: Mon, Apr 16, 2018

Caput 17: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

59: Wed, Apr 18, 2018

Caput 17: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

60: Mon, Apr 23, 2018

Caput 17: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 18

61: Wed, Apr 25, 2018

Caput 18: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

62: Mon, Apr 30, 2018

Caput 18: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

63: Wed, May 2, 2018

Caput 18: Passages, cleanup.

64: Mon, May 7, 2018

As arranged: Catchup, review, and free reading. Introduce Caput 19

65: Wed, May 9, 2018

Caput 19: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

66: Mon, May 14, 2018

Caput 19: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

67: Wed, May 16, 2018

Caput 19: Passages, cleanup. Introduce Caput 20

68: Mon, May 21, 2018

Caput 20: Field questions about the chapter; Exercitationes

69: Wed, May 23, 2018

Caput 20: Any remaining questions about the chapter; Sententiae Antiquae

70: Mon, May 28, 2018

Caput 20: Passages, cleanup.


© Copyright 2014 by Bruce A. McMenomy. Permission to download or print this material is granted to members of Scholars Online for personal study. All other use or redistribution constitutes violation of copyright.